336 Results
Literary Form
336 Results
Raven squawk, orca squeak —Vickers, Roy Henry, 1946- author, illustrator.

"With bright and bold illustrations by celebrated Indigenous artist Roy Henry Vickers, this sturdy board book introduces iconic sounds of the West Coast and supports the language development of babies and toddlers. From ...

Greenwood —Christie, Michael, 1976- author.

They come for the trees. It is 2038. As the rest of humanity struggles through the environmental collapse known as the Great Withering, scientist Jake Greenwood is working as an overqualified tour guide on Greenwood Isla...

Alice, I think —Juby, Susan, 1969-

After her first therapist has a meltdown, fifteen-year-old Alice MacLeod and her new therapist decide that Alice's horizons should be expanded. Enter Alice's Life Goals List. It's time to grow up, act her age, maybe even...

Chasing the moon —Chamberlain, Penny, 1958-

During the Prohibition of the 1920s, with her mother in a tuberculosis sanatorium, Kit must spend the summer with her estranged father, whose mysterious nighttime activities and free-spending habits arouse her suspicions...

Deep river night —Lane, Patrick, 1939- author.

"In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy, Russell Banks, Guy Vanderhaeghe, and Annie Proulx, this much-anticipated new novel by the bestselling author of Red Dog, Deep River Night is set over the course of 48 hours in a remo...

A killer in King's Cove —Whishaw, Iona, 1948- author.

It's 1946, and war-weary young ex-intelligence officer Lane Winslow leaves London to look for a fresh start. When she finds herself happily settled into a sleepy hamlet in the interior of British Columbia surrounded by a...

Five little indians —Good, Michelle, author.

With compassion and insight, 'Five Little Indians' chronicles the desperate quest of these residential school survivors to come to terms with their past and, ultimately, find a way forward. Michelle Good is a writer of C...

Death in a darkening mist —Whishaw, Iona, 1948- author.

On a snowy day in December 1946, Lane Winslow--a former British intelligence agent who's escaped to the rural Canadian community of King's Cove in pursuit of a tranquil life--is introduced to the local hot springs. While...

An old, cold grave —Whishaw, Iona, 1948- author.

"It's early spring of 1947 in idyllic King's Cove, and the Hughes ladies, mere et fille, are gardening and sorting through the jars of food that have been put up for the winter. But while cleaning up after the roof of th...

It begins in betrayal : a Lane Winslow mystery —Whishaw, Iona, 1948- author.

"Summer descends over the picturesque King's Cove (near Nelson, BC) as Inspector Darling and Lane Winslow's mutual affection blossoms. But their respite from solving crime is cut short when a British government official ...

A deceptive devotion —Whishaw, Iona, 1948- author.

"A wedding is on the horizon for Lane Winslow and Inspector Darling. As one of the few Russian speakers in her community, Lane is obliged to act as translator and hostess for Countess Orlova, an elderly Russian woman who...

Valley of the lost —Delany, Vicki, 1951-

In the bucolic mountain town of Trafalgar, British Columbia, a young woman is found dead of a heroin overdose, her baby lying at her side. While this should be an open-and-shut drug case, restraint marks on the victim su...

A match made for murder —Whishaw, Iona, 1948- author.

"It's November, and Lane and Darling have escaped the chilly autumn in the Kootenays for a honeymoon at the posh and romantic Santa Cruz Inn in sunny Tucson, Arizona. But despite her very best intentions to relax, soon a...

The valley —Friesen, Gayle.

A woman who left her Mennonite community when she was a teenager returns home after twenty years and confronts all the problems that originally troubled her.

Miss Smithers —Juby, Susan, 1969-

Sixteen-year-old Alice MacLeod's life as an outcast begins to change when she experiments with being friends with different sorts of people, tries drinking alcohol and eating meat, and competes in the Miss Smithers beaut...

Alice Macleod, realist at last —Juby, Susan, 1969-

Sixteen-year-old Alice uses her screen-writing aspirations to help her get through a challenging period in her life after her boyfriend goes to Scotland, her mother is jailed for environmental activism, and her depressed...

1 2 3 ...